About us

GAPP is a Think-Tank on Government and Public Policy in South Africa.

Unlike an academic or a research institute, a think-tank is primarily devoted to making and winning arguments in the public domain.

GAPP will work to win the argument that building autonomous and professional administrations is vital to the long-term development of the country.

Our People

Ivor Chipkin

GAPP is headed by Ivor Chipkin a leading scholar of government and public policy in South Africa and internationally.

GAPP Research Fellows

Prof Tania Ajam

Tania Ajam is an Associate Professor in Public Policy, Finance and Economics at the University of Stellenbosch School of Public Leadership.

More Detail

Jelena Vidojević

Jelena Vidojević is an Assistant Professor of Social Policy at the University of Belgrade – Faculty of Political Science, Department of Social Policy and Social Work w

More Detail

Dr Pali Lehohla

Dr Pali Lehohla is the former Statistician General of South Africa and former head of Statistics South Africa, a position he held since 2000 up to October 2017. 

More Detail

Pascal Moloi

When the 1990 negotiations began to unfold, Pascal with PLANACT formed part of the national local government negotiating forum. Playing a pivotal role in shaping and developing options for the configuration of the future state of local government in South Africa.

More Detail

Dr Rushil Ranchod

Dr Rushil Ranchod is an Associate Director at the Relational Wellbeing Collaborative, a UK-based development consultancy.

More Detail

GAPP Distinguished Fellows

Prof Radmila Nakarada

Sociologist born in Belgrade, worked first as a researcher at the Economic Institute and the Institute for European Studies.

More Detail

Prof Toyin Falola

Toyin Omoyeni Falola (born 1 January 1953 in Ibadan) is a Nigerian historian and professor of African Studies, and writes for GAPP.

More Detail

Dr. Rommy Morales

Rommy Morales-Olivares is a Professor in the Department of Sociology at the Faculty of Economics in the University of Barcelona, and Postdoctoral Researcher in Wits School of Governance in the University of the Witwatersrand.

More Detail

Get in touch with us: info@gapp-tt.org +27 10 157 2037